Catching up

I haven’t had much of an opportunity to write or even post for the last couple of weeks. Melinda has been traveling a lot. When she got home, it was time for me to leave again. My mom is elderly, blind, and has dementia. She lives in a skilled nursing facility in Fresno County, and I go to visit her when I can. My brother and my sister and her family also live there.

I have my laptop, which I take with me when I travel, but my brother (rightly) pointed out that we had hardly spent any time together my previous visit. I had been taking care of church business. This time, I tried as much as possible to stay off of the computer and spend time with him. That is WAY more important while I’m there.

Anyway…

The results of the Dr. Pepper contest are in, and (unfortunately) my friend Billy Rugh from Creative Planet School of the Arts didn’t win the first prize of $23,000. He was one of the runners-up. As such, he receives $2,300–money that will be well-used. Thanks to everyone who voted in the contest.

If you’d like to see more about the school, a Yahoo production crew came out to the school/church and did a great video of Billy and the students, which can be found at http://advision.webevents.yahoo.com/drpepper/videos/BillRugh.wmv. Take a few minutes and watch it! It’s really inspiring.

More later…..

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll

Leave a Reply

