A message to Hillary Clinton

I wish I could like Hillary Clinton as a candidate for president… or as a senator, for that matter. But I don’t. I don’t find her to be a leader. I don’t find her to be honest (and not exactly DIShonest–just somewhere less than fortright on the continuum, in her own way). I hated that she didn’t just LEAP out of her seat to stand up to condemn the statement that General Peter Pace, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, made regarding the morality of homosexuality.* And, of course, there is her whole thing about wanting to prove how “strong” she is on defense, how a woman can be macho, how Democrats don’t have to be cowardly. Consequently, her support for the war in Iraq–and for other things military–are not only unsatisfactory to me, they are absolutely unacceptable.

Hillary Clinton used to be strongly for the right things, and now she’s not: now she’s just a candidate for the presidency, searching for that middle ground that will satisfy everyone while satisfying no one. The bottom line is that she’s a political opportunist.

I agree with what Anne Lamott said in a recent interview:

Q: How are you feeling about the Hillary-Obama-Edwards, etc. question?

I’m not crazy about Hillary.

Q: Why?

Because I think she’s been too hawkish about the war for too long. She really strikes me as being an opportunist. But the main thing, actually, the truth is, I hate how she’s been about abortion rights. She has found, what she thinks, is a centrist and evangelical position. You know, Jim Wallis and the progressive Evangelicals, their position is that you can be pro-life and still be in favor of legal abortion, but that the actual solution would be for a lot fewer girls and women to need abortions. And that just doesn’t cut it for me. Obama, I like him, I like that he didn’t vote for the war. I really like John Edwards a lot. And I really like Al Gore.

With all the potential to be the best candidate, to be a great president… Hillary Clinton instead is showing herself to be mediocre.

Hillary Clinton, stop listening to your strategists and advisors. Listen to your heart and your guts–and to the American people! We need and deserve the best.

_____

>*In an interview with the Chicago Tribune, when asked about the “don’t ask, don’t tell policy” of the Armed Services said, “I believe homosexual acts between two individuals are immoral and that we should not condone immoral acts. I do not believe the United States is well served by a policy that says it is OK to be immoral in any way.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, Politics

Leave a Reply

