Message to Elizabeth Edwards

Bless you, Elizabeth.

I am a 55 year old female 5-1/2 year colon cancer survivor.

I see my oncologist on Monday for a “routine” follow-up appointment, which I have every six months. I have a blood draw a week or so before my appointment, and then I go to see her. I spent the week with all of this internal high level of anxiety and dread–while pretending that everything is “routine” on the outside.

So far, so good.

But I know that things could be different at any time.

And you have gotten the news that I most fear.

Here is my unsolicited advice: Don’t listen to anything that the naysayers have to say. No one can live one person’s life except the person living it. They don’t know what you’re going through. And it’s none of their business.

May your treatment go well.
As Lance Armstrong says,
“Live strong!”

God bless you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, Cancer, Politics

Leave a Reply

